July 10, 2003 - 3:08 p.m.

News

Listening to: The Smashing Pumpkins, Appels + Oranjes
Feeling: peaceful

Today I have News, with a capital N.

First off, I have figured out I'm addicted to the internet (although that by itself is news with a very small n). Yesterday I very happily left a message with a company that does central air conditioning to ask for an estimate on getting central air condiditioning. If there's one thing I hate more than leaving messages on answering machines, it's waiting for a call back, because that means I can't get on the internet. I felt like a fish out of water. So, of course, I gave them another call and left another message (this time with a person), but still couldn't get on the internet, at least not until four when their office closes.

It's not exactly four yet, and they haven't called me back so what am I doing on the internet?

Anyway, since I couldn't get on the internet, I changed my sheets, folded my laundry, played the piano (for an hour--I haven't done that in a long time), and baked a streusel-filled coffee cake. I was just sitting down to read Wuthering Heights when the phone rang.

It was my mother. Karl had his court date with Tammy today for a temporary whatever. They settled out of court. The house (his and Tammy's) and Andy (their 16-year-old son) will be going to Karl. This comes as a bit of a shock to everybody. None of this is in writing yet, so there's still a chance it's not happening. But if it does go through (which it probably will)...

I'm moving. And I'm getting a step-brother (in effect). And we're not getting central AC so I don't have to stay off the internet waiting for a call back.

Yippee!

I'm not quite sure about the move part of it though. Or living with yet another person. I haven't quite adjusted to Karl yet, now I'll have to adjust to another person. And it'll be me moving into their house, not them into my house.

I just found this out a few minutes ago, so I'm not real sure what my reaction all this is. I've lived in my current house since I was about five. I won't exactly be leaving any friends behind, but I've always had the hope I'd get in touch with some of my old acquaintances. We've done a lot with this place. Our yard is simply beautiful. I'm comfortable with and like the area. And now it's more than likely I'll be leaving it all behind. Then again, I kind of like the idea of a new area. It's all of an hour north so it's not that different but it's enough. I like new things, discovering new places. And Mom & Karl will no longer have an hour's commute to work, which means I'll see more of them, and I'll be able to go visit them at Karl's shop whenever I want to, since it'll be all of ten minutes away from the house.

Ok, that's all my News, but it's quite enough news for me.